Church School Federation
Records show that a school with about forty pupils was flourishing in the village in 1870.
The present building was opened in 1890 as a result of an act of private generosity by the Earl and Countess of Compton. The old school logbooks from the turn of the century provide fascinating reading. They document the school’s experience of the war and evacuation as well as children being kept at home to help with harvest or the whole school being shut to go blackberry picking!
The new Key Stage One extension was built in the late 1990’s. After this, the main Victorian building had an upper floor built in so that the school had a dedicated hall and a classroom upstairs including a library and ICT suite. The school has also had a Devon Lady wooden classroom since the 1970’s.
The Adventure Playground was gifted to the school by the Rogers family in the 1970’s.